FedEx

2004-10-14 at 10:57 a.m.

Spectacular thunderstorm last night. Stayed up until midnight watching it. Even though I had been up since 6 am. Tired. Did a massive project at work. Worked on it from 7 am to 4 pm. I got there before the manager and stayed later. I could have done without getting a pounding from the books, but the money will be well accepted.

Paul and I got a new DVD player since our old one died a slow and agonizing death. It really did. First it decided it would not play any DVDs for me only. So I'd come home, put something in, and get a "no disc" error. I'd have to wait for Paul to come home to put the disc in just to watch any movie. Then it wouldn't play if I was in the same room as the DVD player. Really. I had to go into the kitchen for it to start playing. And after awhile, it froze if I came into the room while playing. Then it stopped playing for Paul. Lo and Behold, we have ordered a DVD player online and second day air mailed it to our home. We were out all day, so we went to the FedEx office to pick it up. Four hours of sleep makes Paul punch happy, so we're standing there, and he starts: "I bet they have a lot of packages in the back."
Me: "I'm sure its very organized, and I'm not even going to start on that pun."
P: "But their packages must come in all sizes."
M: ....
P: "Big packages, long packages, triagular packages, small packages. Look, that guy over there is getting a small package. He looks so unhappy. I'd be unhappy too if my package was that small, but I'm getting a big package.
M: "No one cares about your package. It will probably be small anyway."
P: "Oh, no. My package will be a big package. Well, bigger then that guy's."
M: "And that's all that counts. As long as your package is bigger then his package?"
P: "yes."
The FedEx guy comes out with this huge box on his shoulder. Huge. The DVD player is 3 inches tall by 18 inches or so wide. This box is 3 feet wide and more than 1 foot tall.
P: "see, I got a big package."
M: "Yeah. You got the biggest package in here. You must be very proud."
FedEx Guy(cheery): "Early presents?"
P: "Thats a big package."
M: "We got ourselves a present."
P: Giggling.

Oh yes. He's thrilled because not only did he get a big package, but it had something we both really wanted inside.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory