I'm an addict!

2004-10-19 at 5:29 p.m.

In my english class we discussed an essay on TV addiction. And it made me realize something about myself. I am addicted to reading.
Really.
What is the first thing you do when waking up in the morning, and the last thing you do before going to sleep?
I read. Everything. Not even stuff I like. I just read to read. I'll finish a whole book even if it was horrible. Just to finish reading it.
Does your addiction impair your social interations?
Yes. I read even if I'm having several people over. And I can tune everything out, possibly even someone yelling "Fire!" simply to be reading.
Do you get irritable when you cannot have your fix?
Yes. I'm completely hostile if someone interrupts me while I'm reading. Just last night, Paul was trying to talk to me about work, and I kept looking at my book between him talking and reread the same sentance five times before I "Bahhed" at him and ran to the bathroom. Just so I could finish the paragraph. I suck.

Yes. I am addicted to reading. I really really am. And.. there is no way to stop. I must read for school and for work, and then I read to enjoy reading. Its a never ending cycle. I guess, now that I'm aware of the problem, hoever, I can resist reading things I don't like. Perhaps I'll limit how much I read a week. Now I go through 5-10 books a week. I guess I'll have to cut down to 2-3 books a week. And stop reading crap.
It could be worse.
I could be a sex addict.
Wait.. what's wrong with that?

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory