Home Improvement

2004-05-15 at 2:48 p.m.

House improvement is so much fun - when its done. I love the look of our ceiling fan, once we turned the blades around. They had the ever lovely and popular rattan insert, but when we climbed up to look, the other side was just plain wood. It was dirty and gross work to get them cleaned and flipped. (Every household should have an electric drill) But when we were done, it looked so much better. Who knew that something so small would update the whole room? Our kitchen is a prime example of this, as well. Right now its really dirty in there and I am writing this in an attempt to avoid painting some more, but I know when its done I'll love it. P and I are almost halfway through with our list of all the things we want to do in our first year in this house. We even started our "guest room." Since our roomate has one room, and we have one, and all three of us own computers, we have a computer room. It had one of those closets with the sliding doors in front, so we took the doors off the closet and started stacking pillows in there. We figured out we can get a futton mattress and stack it there like a sofa on the floor and stack a large number of pillows there, and then if we have people visit from out of town or something we can pull the matress out to make a double bed and have someone sleep there. We have almost convinced our mutal friend, Al to visit here soon. I'd love to see him, and more of P's family, and possibly my family once they get their heads out of their bums, etc, etc. Everyone should visit. We set a time for our housewarming, and we're inviting about thirty different people (+ guest). It should be great. We even bought a martini shaker so we can make some intersting drinks.

I'm rather irritated at my family. THe only nod to be moving seems to be so far my grandma calling my mom, very concerned about it... apperently I'm just too young to do something like this. Its such a shock. Not to mention... I'm not married to P! Am I still in school? How can I afford a house while working in.... Retail. (its a dirty word, say it, you'll feel disgusted.... see?) And then she sent me a letter saying basically the same thing. I sent her a six page letter explaining whatall happened to let me buy thing chuck of real estate. I even told her how much we spend and all about negotiations. So hopefully she's happier, but I haven't heard a word from anyone else and nothing from her since then. I wish my family could be a little happy for me. P's mom sent us three $1000 checks! P's dad called us almost everyday. The first message we got was from him, telling us how pround and happy he is that we got this place. I just don't understand.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory