Unrumble and Door Rage

2004-05-17 at 11:00 p.m.

YESTERDAY

How to get ready for a semi formal event in 20 minutes or less:

So, I RSVPed for one of my boss's wedding reception. She's marrying a manager from another store in the same company. I get a phone call asking if I know directions to this house while I'm loafing around on the couch and it dawns on me that I oughta get going. I think its, oh, 5, 5:30. But no. Its actually 7:00, and I'm already an hour late. So I took the worlds fastest shower (I got quite good at this while in high school.. my propencity for delay is impressive) and hunted out something I own that could be considered semi formal. I so rarely dress up, I actually could only find this plaid skirt I last wore to take pictures at a wedding two years ago. So I stuck that under my bed (the fastest way to unwrinkle a skirt when you have no access to an iron or a dryer) and did makeup. Funny thing... when you wear glasses, and take them off to put on makeup... you can't actually see the makeup you're putting on. So I get out the brush and dry powder and POW my bathroom suddenly looks like its snowing peach flakes. And I personal look like I got smacked with chalk on one cheek. Even my eyelashes are now peach covered. So I put my glasses back on and use some body oil to smooth out the mess. Believe or not, this stuff works better then just washing off and trying over. So I look mildly presentable. Mascarea, then into the skirt. Of course, I don't have anything that matches the skirt that is appropriate for the occation. Its teal and red plaid and all my "nice" shirts have stripes or are black or patterned in some way. So I settle on a teal tshirt with 3/4ths sleaves. On the way out the door I grab a bottle of wine someone gave us as a housewarming gift that we didn't open as an emergency last minute gift. I try to go by Lowes, the wedding couples choice of store for a gift card gift, but its sunday, and they're already closed. Living in town is a wonderful, wonderful thing. I get to the party in 15 minutes, and I don't actually get lost while on the way. Last minute, I decide to nix the emergency gift idea since I have no way to indicate its from me and just haul myself up to this house. (Also, I wore my only pair of strappy heels, last seen on my feet at junior prom. They don't fit so well. They didn't then. Never mail order shoes.)

This is the house of one of my coworkers who works simply for something to do. Her husband has a high paying job, and this year she traded in her 2003 bmw convertable for the more practical 2004 vw convertable. Of course, she's terrible nice and considerate and funny and entertaining so while I can envy her, there is no anger or bitterness. Her house is amazingly nice. She's got all these carved nitches in the walls and balconies off every upstairs bedroom and patio of all the ones below. From her back yard you can see the lights of the city and we watched the sun set between two trees in her backyard. Which is professionally groomed. She had a lady who walked around picking up peoples empty glasses. That really made me nervous, but I saw the person who had called me for directions and I stuck to her for an hour before some people I knew fairly well showed up and I did a lot of mingling.

How'd I do on getting ready? Every other lady there had strappy shoes (check) Not many where wearing a lot of makeup (check) Everyone had either the little black dress (mine was a bit TOO little to wear) or a white top/bottom and a flowery white and black bottom/top. (No points) So not too bad.

I had five glasses of champange and got a little tipsy. Someone tryed to tell their significant other my and P's romantic beginings. I usually try to downplay it, but I must have drunk too much because she says "Right, you two met at the store?" and I said (loudly) "No, we met over the internet." And Walked off. Oh, the looks of shock. (it was completely worth it).

P got there after work at about 10:30. He missed the macarena, the chicken dance, and YMCA. One thing I NEVER thought I would do, it would be the chicken dance with most of my coworkers. Ever held hands with all the people you work with and run in a circle during the chicken dance song? I thought not. The hostess's son djed for us, and did a FANTASTIC job. I was very impressed. All and all, I had a really good time. The party had started to die down soon after P got there, I couldn't get him to dance (because he doesn't know how). But he ate, and I ate because I knew I had to drive home. And we both did lots of congrats to the bride and groom. They looked so completely enraptured together. It was really nice. Weirdly enough, 4 people I work with are getting married / got married this year. The first year at my store, 4 people had babies. then last year something like 10 people had a family member die. and this year 4 get married. Another coworker is expecting a baby late this year, so I guess next year will be a baby year again. I was betting on divorces, but fortunately it appears I will be wrong.

TODAY

We painted more in the kitchen. The cream were were going to paint everything is actually much more white than cream. So we're actually painting things whiter then they were before. Its rather stupid. We were painting and P began complaining about our garage door (still of the tiliting state after our lowes incident). I'm rather sick of hearing about it, and I completely lost my temper. Me "FINE! Lets fix it! Now!" I threw down my paint brush and closed the can and walked towards the offending door.

Me "Where's the drill? We'll move the hinge down an inch like I keep saying OVER AND OVER that we should do."

P "I don't want to do it right now."

Me "Well, You want to bitch about it right now so just tell me where the drill is. I'll do it. You dont have to."

P "The door is heavy"

ME"Where's the drill"

P "I don't want you moving it on your own."

Me "Where's the drill?"

P "I really don't want to do this."

ME "Did I ask you to? NO. Where's the drill."

P "Look. I don't want to fucking do this."

ME "Where's the fucking drill??"

Etc, etc, etc, more uses of cussing. At least, that's how I remember it.

In the end, I got the door off on my own just fine. He helped and cut his thumb open on the door frame. And whined. We took an hour to soak it because he thought he had a splinter. I cut my finger on the door and wrapped it up (no whining, thanks) We got it back on, with the top hinge exactly an inch lower then before. Which was the difference between having to lift it to open and close it and it not closing at all, so we moved it back into the original position and unrumbled the kitchen and part of the master bedroom instead. Now P is cooking dinner. we're okay. Just grumpy from paint fumes, I think.

(Unrumble, btw, is when you clean house. It comes from the "backwards" episode of Red Dwarf.)

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory