First car and Video games suck

2004-05-27 at 9:36 p.m.

Video games suck.

Currently I have 4 roomies. One, I'm planning on marry someday, one has been our roomie since we moved in. (Chris is, indeed, awesome) and Cody and Irish needed a helping hand and I'm always happy to help out people when I can. However, there has been one unexpected outcome of all this happy homeage. The roomies have reintroduced Paul to video games. So, since, oh, 4 to 8 they played Grand Theft Auto. Now Chris has gone to hang with his girlfriend, Cody is straightening out their apartment. And Paul has been playing video games alone for an hour and a half. We've discussed getting food, but haven't acutally managed to get to the getting food stage since 6 pm because there is a video game in the playstation. And this is midway through Paul's vacation week. Not good. I will not see him again for a long long time.

Today I did something new. I laid out in the backyard with Liz (irish's little sister) and tryed to tan. I am the pasty equivalent of most book loving people and, therefore, never have a tan. I didn't this time either, but I think i gained a few more freckles then I had when I woke up. And for some reason I smell good. I smell like sun or something. But I like it. Perhaps I'll do it again tomorrow. We basked for a little under an hour, once the guy the neighbor hired to cut his lawn started on the back. I am eternally greatful that his lawn will soon be shorn. I think the guy had to give up on the back without finishing. I'll go look.------ wow. Its all mowed. I'm really really impressed. I can't wait to see it in daylight. This makes me super happy.

Also, warcrygirl's entry reminded me of my first car, and I think I'll share the story. I bought from my uncle his already totaled 89 plymouth voyager for $600 dollars. It ran, it didn't pass inspection, but the inspection wasn't to expire for 9 months after I bought it. I figured I could fix it up in that time. By the way, never ever buy a car with the intention to fix it. It just doesn't happen. I drove this minivan to school every. However, I was a junior, and I bought it in Feb. They don't sell parking permits then to anyone but seniors. At they were $20. No way I'd pay that for 3 months of parking. So my option was to park in the parallel parking spaces for 3 months in an already totaled car, and hike from there to school. I did not go to a normal, one building school that might have a few portables. I went to RRHS. nine buildings (10 my senior year), north AND South portables. (but the south ones were on the east side of campus, and the north ones were on the west side. Go figure) So every morning I parked in parallel in a big ass minivan between all the football player's pick ups, walked around the football feild, the 700 building, the 100 building to one of the north (west) portables. And I also ended on the other end of campus, then too, and hiked back. Probably the same distance if I had just walked from my house to school. In fact, most of the time, the school bus beat me home. However, it was my car, and damnit, i was going to drive it. Of course, about mid-may the power windows on my car went out, stuck with about 4 inches of space between the top frame and the window on the drivers side, and no other window open. I couldn't afford to fix it until about mid august. Which is the hottest month of the year in Texas. Every morning, I drove to school early to beat the heat, and then let it sit open for several minutes before climbing in after the end of the day. Soon after the windows broke, I look a large group of people to Eeyore's Birthday party (a hippy party held in March every year). And the sliding door decided to never open again. This was the side the car had been hit on, so really I'm surpised it lasted that long without breaking. Of course, soon, after my inspection expired, I tried to get my car inspection ready. I got a guy i went to school with replace the broken tail light (for free) and took it to the inspection place. There were three guys there when I asked if it could be inspected. Two of them laughed behind me. The guy in front of me was nice enough to point out three reasons it was a no go. The windows don't work, there is water in the front light, a crack goes all the way across the window shield. So I just ignored it and drove on. I think I had it for 6 months after the inspection expired before it had its final death. When a gas something burst and let the stench of gasoline fill the interior of the car. And that was all she wrote. A month later, I bought a '00 Chevy, and a junkyard gave me 200 bucks for the old minivan. At the time I thought I got swindled. But since I've now owned 5 cars (in three years) I know that was NOT getting swindled.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory