Mean Girls

2004-06-01 at 7:31 p.m.

I have an interview, I have an interview! Albertsons called me back! YAY! Its good having connections. So. Maybe tomorrow I'll have a second job.

I'm reading an author currently named Katie Macalister. She writes romance novels of hysterically funny perportions. Right now I'm working on collecting all of her books. THey're just so funny and lighthearted, I can't stop reading them. I've read 7 books in the past 7 days, and 4 of them were her. Ella Enchanted, Cheaper by the Dozen, and Artemis Fowl were simply research. But they were good too. Artemis fowl would be great for a boy who loved Harry Potter, just like Tamora Peirce is great for a girl who loved Harry Potter. Cheaper by the Dozen, I'd never read before... if I was a teen (like the age group who, in theory, should read it) I would have never finished it. Its written like a biography, yet its fiction? Just doesn't work that way, nooo. It was attempting to write like Wilder's Praire books, but no dice. Ella Enchanted is a cute cinderella story, and liz and I shall see it when it comes out in movie form. Its nice having a younger girl who likes to watch girly teen movies with me. I've been watching these movies since i was, oh, 7 or so. And I still like them.

the girl Clan and I went to see Mean Girls two nights ago. I have to say, it was almost exactly like high school. The only difference i saw was that the girl applogized in the end for her actions, and that NEVER happened in high school. The part that cracked me up was "health class". The teacher stands at a board and says "Do not have sex. If you have sex, you will get clamedia and die." That was, indeed, health class. I remember them showing slide after slide of dramatically bad cases of stds, and saying "this is what your private bits will look like when you get this disease. And you will get it if you have sex." No, if you have unsafe sex. Just sex in general. They had a guest speaker from a pro life group come talk to us about absteince, and the speaker was very pregnant. Oh. I somtimes miss the constanct hypocrasy of high school. Advice to parents. Just homeschool them, okay. Social conduct be damned and home school. Get them to college as fast as they can, because its so much less HORRIBLE then high school. The movie was excellent, however, and very feel good. yay.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory