Its the American Dream

2004-06-19 at 12:42 a.m.

So I finally customized my diaryland thing. I know many do not believe I know html code, but I do. I'm just too lazy to work with it, usually. Thank you to Irish for having the great picture that I kidnapped and didn't tell you about. Hopefully, you don't mind. I did spend a great deal of time perfecting a picture of myself to use, but angelfire will not let me link images from afar so you became my guinea pig. Thanks.

Worked both books and deli today. Fun. Fun. Yesterday at the deli I learned how to prep fried chicken and rotessere chicken. Warning: This might be a gross discription. I never knew you had to pop chicken joints out of place. But on thighs, that's what you do. Otherwise the part between the joint doesn't cook and looks bloody. Which leads to Unhappy Customers. Its really difficult at first to pop chicken joints. You have to hold it just the right way and snap it out. When its done right, it makes the same noise people make when popping their knuckles.

Also, we do rotessere chicken. After they're ready to go, you poke a big spike through their butts and up through the neck. Three to a spit. This set me to giggling because I remember the Eddie Izzard "Dressed to Kill" special where he talks about putting babies on spikes (its the american dream). Like that. I know, I have a sick mind.

Right.

So.

Books.

Lets talk about them, shall we?

I am the shortest person working at our store. I'm also the heaviest. Our ladders say "Do not have more then 200 lbs on this ladder." with a little stick guy illustration of what will happen if you do not Obey The Rules. I'm more then that by myself, no way can I haul 50 pound boxes of books down such a ladder. I'd fear for my life. So what do they give the short girl who can't use the ladder to do?

The tall section.

The section with 91 inch shelves. That's 7 and a half feet. So. Today. I battled and beat down the top shelf books with just the tips of my toes and a foot tall step ladder. Arobics for seven hours a day. Up and strech and down and squat. SEVEN HOURS. Okay, I had a lunch and I had to cover another lunch. SIX HOURS. In dress shoes and pants. No pain. I realize that they cannot determine who gets what to do based on height. But I'm feeling the ladder thing feels like discimination. I don't like being dependent on others. And because of the skinny ladders, I have to be when I need another shelf, or to shelve things in the backroom, or to work with the 91 inch shelves, which, by the way, I'm supposed to touch every day I work. Does this happen? I don't think so. No way am I balancing on my toes on a stool everyday. Three, four times a month for multiple hours is bad enough.

There is a benifit to Deliness. No one sticks boxes of frozen chicken above my head.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory