Revelation through the Stars

2004-06-20 at 11:41 p.m.

Daily extended (by Astrology.com)

Open your heart and make somebody else's experience a shining moment. Put yourself in his or her shoes and walk a mile in them. Shared circumstances lead to empathy, and empathy is the way to bridge gaps between people that once preferred to focus on differences instead of similarities. Good things start happening in a friendly environment. Once you establish this comfort level, you'll have the key to many doors. Behind each door is a stairway to another level, each one representing another chance to do it a little differently. The game gets more interesting the longer you play.

There is a person I work with, whom I'll call Dana. Dana complains all the time about everything. To the point of driving people far far away from her. You cannot say "Hey, hows it goin'?" Without her going off for 10 minutes about how awful her life is, how much her back/feet/shoulder hurts, etc etc. Usually, I pull the same thing as everyone else and go "Hi!" and then run quickly in the other direction. However. Lately I've been thinking that she must be awefully lonely, because Dana never complains about her friends. I don't think she has any, because, really she complains about everything else. And.. because of recent incidents with People Who Suck, I could use some more friends. So last time I talked to her, I didn't ask her how she was. I didn't run away. I asked what she was reading. And we kept talking. About all the books she's read and all the books I've read. About movies. And what we thought of different bookstores around town. What would make the perfect bookstore, etc.

So my horiscope today I found to be very interesting. And about right. I'm realizing that there is a lot Dana and I have in common. I shouldn't have disregarded her so easily the way everyone else has.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory