Just me Complaining. Oh, Again.

2004-06-29 at 11:05 a.m.

NPR is doing a story right now on lightbulbs. Huh.

I hate work. Hate it. HATE IT. I don't think I want to work anymore. I like the people I work with. And I even like the customers. Most of them, anyway. I like the section I have, and I like the computer system. But I hate the timeclock. Its evil and vile. See. I am held responsible for all the displays in my section. Now. When I'm working, ususally there are two other people working, as well. Thats one for customer service desk, one for cash registers, and one for everything else. Everything else being putting up strays, cleaning, dusting, backup for both of the above as well as the two specialty dept., and get stuff done in my own section. So.. as you can guess... I don't have time to work in my section. In fact, a lot of the time I have to ask someone to wait at the service desk so I can pee.

I hate having to ask permission to pee.

So, really, I hate the decision that we should work with the minimum of staff so that they can milk us for all the profit that they can do. I resent all my supervisory power being stripped from me. I used to be able to open the safe and count the deposit and get change for people and even work with the armored transport people. Now. I dont even have a key to the change drawer. I can't cancel or void a transaction. And I haven't changed position. Corporate has decided that leads shouldn't have this power,and universally are stripping us of our power (as well as our change for promotion, because that was it, right there. Knowing what to do with the safe. Thats being a manager.)

A specialty dept. just got their new manager. A year ago I interviewed for the position when it was last open. I didn't get it because I didn't have management experience. A month ago it was open again. They pulled someone from a different business who has 20 years of experience to do the position. I did not merit an interview. HOW THE FUCK DO I GET TO BE A MANAGER IF NO ONE WILL RISK GIVING ME THE CHANCE IN THE FIRST PLACE?

I hate retail. I want out. Anyone know any jobs paying 9-12 bucks an hour in Austin that doesn't involve feeling degraded every day.?

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory