Sheer Stupidity

2004-11-18 at 2:10 a.m.


First, gross things.
Last night, Paul, Chris (roomie back again) and Myself had the disgusting oppertunity to get rid of a dead possum. It had been next to the gutter at my house since Saturday night. We waited until last night becase today is trash day. And who wants a stinky Possum in their trash? No one. So its been raining for two days straight. And we go out there with a plastic bag and a shovel and the trash can to take care of it. This is declared at the time to be the most disgusting thing we have ever done. For the record, Chris is in the army, so I know he's seen some gross stuff in his time. I bottle fed nine puppies with my mother for several weeks, and taught them how to eat solid food. There are some disgusting times right there. And Paul.. well, he did surveying for awhile and some of his stories are mighty gross. So, with our experience with gross things, we have STILL decided this is the grossest. Not to mention we're out at 11 at night, when its pouring rain, with a shovel. Felt kinda like we were trying to cover our tracks. Luckily, the possum wasn't too decayed that it fell apart. Chris said it was really squishy though. (its not that gross, we used the shovel to put it in the bag.) Paul held the bag, Chris held the shovel. I was there for emotional support and comic relief.

Second, Sheer Stupidity, Part 1.

So after getting rid of the body (as I like to put it), we invited a few people over to hang out. And that was fun. Sitting and talking and all. But after awhile we ended up talking about what makes the south great. And it was concluded that one of the best things that makes the south great is fried pickles. This was at 1 in the morning, okay? So we decided that we're all craving fried pickles. And there happens to be a place in austin (at least 10 miles south) that is open 24 hours a day that sells fried pickles. In fact, Katz sells the BEST fried pickles. So we decide to head down there at 1 am, after its been pouring rain for two and a half days, for fried pickles. Four of us (Irish, Cody, Josie, and Chris) head down in Josie's car. A Suv, with four wheel drive and all that.) Paul and I go in his car. A Saturn Sedan. After our 5th time hydroplaning, we call Josie and tell her we're turning around. The water was BAD. Vision was probably 100 feet in front. Part of the roads were flooded. THere was part where a waterfall was flowing down the barrier of one side of the road so that it was dumping water ONTO the roadway. We saw three wrecks. And this is when I realized that going out, after all this rain, was one of the DUMBEST things I could have done. So we turned around. They made it there and back okay. And they were nice enough to bring us some left over fried pickles. Even if they were cold, they were very good.

Third, Sheer Stupidity, Part 2.

Thankfully this morning the sun was out, and the ground mostly dried off. So hopefully no more rain adventures. However, there is a group of corporate people coming to our store this month, and because of that we have done something significant. For the sake of anonymousless, I'll call group 1 (who is coming to our store) Gorg. I'll call group 2 (who is not coming to our store, but has before) Huh?. Huh? and Gorg have a problem. There is a type of display we put up in our store that Gorg doesn't like, but Huh? loves. So, when Huh? is coming to our store, we don't worry about it, because we like this type of display and use it a lot. When Gorg comes to our store, we must take all of this display down so we don't displease Gorg. Have you ever heard of something so stupid before in your life? Yes. So I spent half an hour taking down all instances of this particular display down in my section. Because Gorg doesn't like it. And after Gorg is gone, we'll put them all back up again. There are 8 leads in the store. Pluss several parts that do not have someone overseeing them. I use this display probably the least of any other lead. So we're talking probably 8 hours of time wasted taking down a display. Something small, trivial, that we at the store level helps improve sales. Because it will displease Gorg. Frankly, if Gorg asks me if I use it, I'm not going to comply with any "oh, no" lies. I'm going to say "hell, yeah. Its easy to from far away when you use it, so I use it all the time. Anyone who things differently is simply a dumb Gorg. Why do you ask?" Stupid. Stupid things.

Fourth, Sheer Stupidity, Part 3.

I got rejected through an internet interview. Yep. Filling out five questions for a business hiring nearby, and I got a "don't call us, we'll call you." About it. Isn't that hysterical? Machines can reject me! I know why, too. I don't have a problem peeing in a cup for an employer. I don't mind taking my nose ring out for an employer. I don't mind working shifts beginning at 7 am or ending at 10 pm (I've worked to midnights since I was 16 years old, thanks) But I will not work every single holiday in a year. Sorry. I have a family. Thanks. The question is "There are 6 holidays throughout the year. How many are you willing to work in a year?" Choices: All, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 0. I thought I'd rather be honest then change my answer after working there for a few weeks, so I said 5. And I get the "we'll call you" message. Great. Although, I think it was completely worth it, because as I relayed that to the party group last night, Irish's unthinking responce was "How can any employeer reject you.

I'm feelin' the love.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory