Dr. Seuss, I am not.

2005-01-04 at 11:56 p.m.

There are good days to be late to work, and then there are bad days. Good days are when you are doing nothing but merch, you can come in anytime, or days that its so busy you don't get noticed until you've been there for several hours, anyway. Bad days to be late are when every single person overseeing you in your store is having a meeting in the same room you have to place your purse when you get in. Also, when you're supposed to be there at 7 and instead wake UP at 7, and come in at 7:20 with part of your hair attempted to turn into a dreadlock and the rest looking wet because, yep, you were gonna shower in the morning.

Guess which day I picked to be late.
By the way, I actually had two quasi dreadlocks. I picked one out at a stoplight.

So, I have learned the sneaky way to not let them know I'm late. I didn't use the doorbell. I tapped on the window with my keys to be let in. (The doorbell is usually in a state of not working, anyway, so key tapping is normal.) I cracked jokes with the person who opened the door to distract her from the annoyingness of having to wait on a late person. I pointed out my dreadlock, which really cheered her up. (Go figure.) I stowed my purse near my "desk" for the time being, and dived right into what I was supposed to be doing... And.. in case someone I work with actually reads this now, I really did work extra hard to get everything done on time. Really. My merch only took an hour. After their meeting was over, I stuck my bag where it belonged. And I stayed 20 minutes late to make up for it.

So.. that's the sneaky way of avoiding the walk of shame (to your locker in front of the gauntlet of managers) when late for work.

Also, for work, I'm trying to write out a "book ettiqette" poem to teach the kids. So far, this is what I have (that doesn't suck, I have 5 other parts that suck):
The splits are fun
to those who can do it.
But books cannot,
So don't put them through it.

Dr. Seuss, I am not. If anyone has any advice (useful for the person who doesn't have kids and isn't familiar with them to write a kids poem, huh? It was my idea. I get to do all the follow through.) let me know.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory