Paul is a hero

2005-01-05 at 10:52 p.m.

Today started pretty, if overcased, and since I just needed a few things from the store, and had plenty of time to get them, I decided to walk the mile to the grocery store and back. Paul decided to go with me. We got outside, and it was warm. SO warm, in fact, that we went back in so he could throw on shorts and I could get in a t-shirt. Guess what happened.

We were 30 feet from the grocery store when there was this big gush of wind behind us that smelled like burning cedar and snow. And suddently it was cold and raining. Just like that. So we get to the store, and it seems pretty clear that we can't walk back unless we want to freeze our asses off, so Paul volunteers to walk back to the house and get the car while I do the shopping. That way, hopefully the cold front won't be too bad.

So I do my shopping, and grab some freebies to read while waiting. And after part of "Who wants to be a millionare" and most of some soap opera, there he is!

As we guessed, the cold front wasn't the same as it was later in the day, with the wind, it was actually worse. Paul said his arms were numb long before he got to our street, and he couldn't jog because he was too cold. He said all he could feel on his face and his hands were the pinpricks of water. Also, he is a skinny, skinny lad. I'm sure that helped none. So, because he faced 1 mile of walking in the wind and cold in an undershirt and shorts for so i didn't have to, he's completely my hero.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory