PLEAT

2005-01-30 at 11:25 p.m.

As part of one of my (many) many new year resolutions I bought a dance exercise dvd to exercise too. Today, I did it for the first time and Paul decided to do it with me.

We got our asses kicked.

They're all "Pleat!" and "Leap!" and on leap, I almost face-plant into the coffee table. I hear a shreak as I back up into the chair, which happened to have an unsuspecting cat that thought it was going to witness its own death by exercise tape. I drug through, though. I did the first 30 minute segment of the tape. Except after the coffee table incedent I stopped doing the leaps. My legs hurt. This is good. I read at some web site that you have to exercise and have the "hard to talk but can talk" breathing thing going on for 20 minutes to make your exercise worthwhile. So I did it for 30. Go me.

I don't think the cat will forgive me for awhile, though.

-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

I have a problem with my writing. My problem is that I usually write things that most people take pages to write in just a few lines. Or maybe a paragraph. So I got a book to help me improve my writing. And it said that I needed to describe. Preferably from the third person.

Allison�s typing sounded like her failing alarm clock. It stopped and started sporadically. She knew that the pauses were not a good thing. Every time she halted, she winced a little bit, and another chip from her already waning confidence crumbled down like dandruff to her shoulders. She knew she had a serious problem with her writing. Typically, she would read other�s work, awed by their use of language. Their eloquence, the lengths of what they�ve written. She would then decided to try to write in such a way. Regretfully, instead of having long, elegant pieces on one topic, she would jump around from one to another. And then there were those darn stops and starts while she thought about her writing. In a desperate attempt to be more �professional� of a writer she bought a book on writing and poured over the pages. She was sure the answer she needed would be contained within the finely lined text. The book told her to write with more description. Instead of �face-plant� the book told her to say �tumbled, in distress, to land on top of the hard and unyielding coffee table top.� The book also told her that it was much easier to expand and describe in third person.

I�m thinkin� I like my old style better. I feel like I get a lot more out. And I don�t NEED to use spell check to be understood. Not to mention, talking about myself in third person makes me want to poke myself in the eye. And, frankly, I like the term �face-plant.�

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory