Can of Whoopass, Part Two

2005-03-10 at 9:52 a.m.

Please read "Yes, I DO have a spine" first.

So I thought the issues with Capitol One were done, finito, water under the bridge. I even stopped telling customers with their card that they were evil.

Oh, no, no, no. It is not over!

I've been waiting patiently for my "your credit card has been cancelled" letter.

It isn't here.

Even better! In the mail yesterday, I received a "pay us or else" notice. It was quite pleasently worded but none the less.. a pay us or else notice from them.

See.. that annual fee I wanted removed? They've been charging me late fees on it, according to the statements.

So I call them up this morning.

FYI, they haven't changed their message.

"This is the only information available until tomorrow morning, at 9 a.m."

Uh huh. Let the "0" blood bath begin.

So after awhile I get connected to a manager (Directly! did they know I was calling????)

And I explain. "I've been getting statements stating otherwise but I closed my account Jan. 2."

(By the way, I got that info on when I cancelled it by going through my archives here. DLand saved my ass.)

She says "Your card has been cancelled and it will take a few more statements before it shows those credits back on your accound."

I say, "Thanks. Goodbye."

But I'm sitting here thinking that isn't right.

First, the phone system isn't right. it misleads you to believe their reps only work at 9 am to about 9:05.

Also, a couple more statements would give them 90 days they need before going "Right.. lets send her due stuff to a creditor and be done with it." and then 5 years later some guy named Bruce called my about $98 I owe to some company I don't remember doing business with.. Is that how it works? I am unsure at this point what I should do. I don't know if that's what they mean to do and I'm just missing it because nothing like that was told to me on the phone.

Third, I've looked on the internet and on my statements. I don't think I'm going to do business again with a company that doesn't disclose it's physical mailing address. How am I supposed to send them a "Offical Letter of Complaint".. which is the next step, by the way... if I don't have an address to send certified mail.

Anyone have some advice for me?

Or should I wait to hear from Bruce the overzealous collector.. go crazy and write freelance stories that are negative about Capitol One and get them published in all forms of media until you see a short chubby chick talking to Oprah about corrupt companies? (I'm not this mad yet, but if I do get a Bruce call... I'm going over the edge)

last & next

3 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory