Surpise! ... I'm in Alabama

2005-05-17 at 11:38 a.m.

I took a 'suprize vacation'... well, I had to ask for time off in advance, arrange for people to take care of the kitties, but right now I'm in Paul's mom's house in Alabama. Planning our wedding.

I'm very happy I'm not working.

Anyway, everytime I leave AL, I forget how beautiful it is here. It's so hilly and green and has tall tall trees...
Someday I'd like to live here. But for now, I'm settling on simply getting married here.

There are several lovely places in the foliage around R & P's house (this would be Paul's folks.) however while we're here we've been looking into other places near by. There is a place called the Party Place that has a chappel and reception area for a very good price. We're considering our options. We also talked to a baker yesterday (our first day here) and found that we liked the price of wedding cakes here very much.. it was less than we expected. So, so far, so good. Today I'll be calling some supplies rental places to get a price estimate on providing tents and such if we have it at R & P's house. I'll also call some florists and get a few estimates on flowers. ..

And dinner with Allen and his Girlfriend tonight!

I've got a lot of stuff planned.
But you know what? I'm not at work.

Speaking of which, there is a bookstore here in AL that is not located in my home city (I have no idea if there are others in Texas) And while we were out yesterday Paul talked to one of the people working at that bookstore and asked about how she liked working there. She said she knew people get treated better and make a lot more money at the bookstore I work at and she isn't happy at all with her job.

On the other hand, while I was there I did't see anyone rushing around. In fact, there were probably more employees in the store than customers.... So it seemed pretty cushy to me. But I guess no matter where you work, the grass always looks greener elsewhere...

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory