The Dress

2005-05-27 at 12:04 p.m.

So, the saturday that I got back from vacation my mom and I went bridal dress shopping. And I found one I really like. Sadly, I cannot put the picture here because Paul could possibly find it. And, as we all know, the fiance can't see the dress, or me in the dress, etc, etc, until the wedding day.

In fact, I had to kick him out of the room so I could write this.

So, wedding dress shopping was fun. One thing that cracked me up is there was also a woman in there with her mom and her 6-7 year old sister. The little sister stopped infront of a padded gown and says (excitedly) "Look! This dress already has boobs in it!!"

Cracked me up.

I had no idea that wearing wedding dresses were just like wearing a giant bear costume. Really.
So, first you get geared up in this petticoat that you have to pull all the way up to your armpits and you put a ... I dunno what its called - a bra thing that extends down to cover your stomach as well... anyway. Then you put on The Dress. This cannot be done alone. Which is why I found myself in a 4 by 5 room in my underwear in front of my mom for the first time in years.

She buttoned and zipped and whatever else you do that takes FOREVER to close The Dress. and out we trot.

I looked like a snowbeast.

Man, those suckers are hard to walk in!
I had to hand yards of cloth over my arm to stagger forward. Do you know why brides walk so slowly down the asile? Because they're not holding up their skirts!

Not only that.. the bra thingy had boosted my breasts to new heights, and because of the same bra thing, I couldn't feel my body from my tits down. So I couldn't see down... and I couldn't feel myself. So I hit myself in the hip a few times, but there was so much padding (from The Dress, not me) that I could barely feel that. In fact, it felt JUST LIKE the Winne the Pooh Costume. Except without the head. But I must say, I looked pretty good in it.. even if it was a snow beast dress.

The second dress... that was the winner! But sadly, no description because Paul could see it.

I also tried on a third dress that was a halter. Something I've actually never worn before. But the second dress was definately The Dress.

-----------------------------------

I had a good vacation. We set up the reception place (Barbeque!), the wedding chappel, the florist, the baker... pretty much everything, except the person to marry us.

But that's a story for another time...

last & next

3 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory