A little more about my job

2005-09-28 at 8:37 p.m.

So I dealt with my first batch of weird/stupid questions today at my new job. For the most part, its going well. No nutters come in. I've yet to have someone freak out on me because I don't have THE earing style they want... the time it takes per customer is certaintly less because I don't have to ask them 20 questions.

Did you find everything okay today?
No? What were you looking for?
Did someone help you with that?
Let me look it up for you.
We might have it. Let me check the shelf.
Its not on the shelf, let me check the back.
Its not in the store since I can't find it. Can I call another store for you?
Which one?
Let me call.
... They can't find their copy either, do you want me to try another store?
.... Did you want to order it?
Would you like to have it mailed to your home?

Etc Etc.
Actually, I could keep going, but I'm not gonna.

At the botique I work at, it goes like this.

Did you find everything you wanted today?
No? What were you looking for?
Oh. We don't have that.
(Or: Its over there.)

And no more! no more ordering or calling other stores or anything.

And I found out that IF a asst. manager is going to make it to a store manager level.. they usually do it after about a year and a half. Amazing, huh?

About the stupid questions...

Most people who call on the phone start by saying "This is a really dumb question, but..." And then follow it by a completely legitimate question. People at the bookstore never applogized for dumb questions. And these aren't even dumb questions...

But so far its been good. Three days. I'll be getting 42 hours this week... which will NOT be normal. But, hey, I'll deal. They pay's better, too.

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory