Work Stories

2005-02-04 at 2:52 a.m.

A guy was doing a return today, and since we put it back on whatever card they orginally spent it on (usually) I asked if he had his Amex card on him. He lit up like he'd thought of an idea so genius that it would stop war, world hunger, and people from getting fat all at the same time. And said, beaming, "I never leave home without it!"
Although, since NO ONE had said that before to such a thing this struck me as terribly funny, and I'm cracking up, with my manager waiting for me to stop snickered long enough to move so he can do the return. So yeah. It was funny. I relayed it to all the people in my house as soon as I got home, but they didn't think it was quite as funny. I also confessed to one of the people that witnessed my Underwear Sharing what the tag was actually to. And he laughed so hard he had to clutch the back of the chair to stay standing up.

In additon, I had a guy a couple of weekends ago ask for a book on how to use a tape measure. This wasn't so bad, but the fact that he had a tape measure attached to his belt, pulled it out about a foot and put the button down so it stuck out the whole time I was helping him made me terribly uncomfortable. He got terrible service and I'm not sure he knew why. I was more "they'll-be-here-have-fun-looking" and dive around the corner than anything else. But the phallic-ness what just simply too much for me.

I need a website that has excellent FREE advice to fiction writers and if anyone has such a link they recommend, please comment me or something and tell. Because I really need it. I be broke; I'm not buying all the books I need to do my research. Although I got a fabulous pamplet from my tech writing teacher that taught me how to correctly use a semi-colon (see the above sentance).

Hmm. Trying to think of another work story... Uh.. "I need a copy of Homer's 'Illiad.'"
"Okay, what translation did you need?"
"Uh. I think the orgininal?"

Hm. That ones tough since it started as spoken word in the original latin (or was it greek?) Although there's one guy in our store who _might_ be able to do it....

last & next

0 comments so far

newest archives profile notes image design host

Blogarama - The Blog Directory